Digital TV in the world


Digital TV in Brazil Digital TV in Latin America Digital TV in the World

In this Page: Keep track of the process for Digital TV implementation in the world.


Schedule for the implementation of Digital TV in the world


The Digital TV implementation will go through a period of transition, that might last from 10 to 15 years, in which broadcasters will transmit simultaneously two channels of 6 MHz, one analog and other digital.


By the introduction of the digital TV in the TV broadcasting (Terrestrial Digital TV), user might choose one of the following options:

  • Continue to receive the open TV through the current way using analog TV
  • Acquire a set top box which permits to receive digital signal and convert it into a video and audio standard available in the user's TV
  • Acquire a new TV which already has a set top box

This process is happening in many countries in the world. In the United Kingdom, for example, the process started in 1998 and 65.9% for the houses that already had access to Digital TV in September 2005. In the United States it started in 2002 and in Japan in 2003.



North America


United States

Standard: ATSC

Switch-off: The American government established, through Law, that on June 21st 2009 TV stations should shut off analogue transmissions and start to operate only in digital format.




Standard: ATSC

Switch-off: The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) determined on August 2011 that the transition from analogue to digital should be made in the main cities and in some channels in other areas. Some stations switched off even before this deadline and in localities got late in this process. However, in general, most of the population weren't affected by the transition because they receive TV signal via cable, satellite or Internet.





Standard: DVB-T


Switch-off Countries
Complete Germany, Finland, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Sweden, Spain, Austria, Denmark, Estonia, Malta, Slovenia, Belgium, Cyprus, France, Italy, Latvia, Portugal, Croatia, Switzerland, Czech Republica, Norway, Iceland, Ireland, Lithuania, Slovakia, United Kingdom (24/10/2012) and Macedonia.
In 2013 Bulgaria (before set to 09/01/13 the switch-off was delayed to 11/01/13), Greece (2013), Poland, Romenia (Jan/13) and Hungary (between 2013 and 2014).
In 2014 or no date Ukraine (2014), Russia (2015), Montenegro (Jun/15), Georgea (2015) and Belarus (2015).
Ainda não tem TV digital Servia and Bosnia and Herzegovina




Asia & Oceania



Country Standard Implementation Switch-off
Australia DVB-T Digital transmossions started in 2001 in metropolitan regions. 2013
China DMB-T   2015
South Korea ATSC Transmissions began on October 26th, 2001. 2012
Philippines ISDB-T Adopted ISDB-T system officially in August, 2011. In 2012, the standard face rejection from TV producers that support the adoption of DVB-T2. Due to the fight between government and media, the country don't have laws or regulation for digital TV. 2015
India DVB-T The standard was chosen on July 8th, 1999, but isn't implemented yet. 2015
Japan ISDB-T Digital TV was launched in the country in 2003. Japan was the creator of the ISDB-T system. 07/24/2011
New Zeland DVB-T On May 2007, the country started its digital transmissions. between 2013 and 2015

Source: Forrester Research - Jul/07 and Gateway to the European Union





Digital TV became available in all the 47 Japanese capitals in December 2006, three years after its launching in 2003. The number of houses that can receive the digital TV signal in Japan reached 39.5 million (84%) in 2006.


Until Dec/06, were sold 17.3 million television devices prepared to receive digital signals, as represented in the table below.



Thousands 2006 until 2006 until 2007
Digital TVs 5,485 10,667 19,219
Digital recorders 1,926 2,817 5,702
Tuners 102 296 430
STB TV cable 1,413 3,506 5,099
PCs - - 974
Total 8,925 17,286 31,424

Source: Dibeg/JEITA


There were, yet in 2007, 20,473 thousand cell phones with digital TV.


Digital TV in Japan presents:

  • HDTV
  • Multiprogramming
  • Mobility
  • Interactive TV
  • Data broadcasting
  • Advanced caption

More details aabout the implementation of Digital TV in Japan:


ISDB-T especifications: www.dibeg.org/aribstd/ARIBSTD.htm

Dibeg: www.dibeg.org

NHK: www.nhk.or.jp/english






Country Standard Implementation Switch-off
South Africa DVB-T Adopted the standard on January 14th, 2011. Dec/2013
Botswana ISDB-T Adopted ISDB-T on 02/28/2013. -
Angola DVB-T   -
Mozabique DVB-T Local government followed the recommendation of a recomendação da Southern African Development Community (Sadc) and adopted the European digital TV standard 2015
Tanzania DVB-T   -


In November 2010, Southern African Development Community (Sadc) approved the recommendation for its 14 member countries (South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Congo, Lesoto, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauricio Islands, Mozambique, Namibia, Suazilandia, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabue) to adopt the European system. However, as it was mandatory, Brazil and Japan kept negotiation with African governments in order to open the market to ISDB-T standard.




ARIB specifications ISDB-T: www.dibeg.org/aribstd/ARIBSTD.htm

Dibeg: www.dibeg.org

NHK: www.nhk.or.jp/english



Pesquise no site


More Events


IoT Brasil Summit 2018

Assista on demand

Veja Outros Webinares




TV Digital



Print this Page

Add to favorites Communicate errors